Several of my friends have graduated with English degrees. Before the graduation of my friend, Taylor, I asked her what she planned on doing post-undergrad life. What she told me took me by surprise- “I’m moving to Japan for a year to teach English!” And just like that, I was sucked down the rabbit hole.

As English majors, we have options. While there are many job opportunities post-graduation, teaching abroad is something that had never really occurred to me. English majors are prime because we have such a strong core and foundation on the language itself. As most teachers I know will say: teaching is a learned skill- you learn by actually getting in the classroom and doing it! While an English education degree is not necessary, you must have a willingness to work with kids (ranging from ages 5-18).

Bike

There are tons of programs to get you started, depending on where you want to go. Some require getting TESOL/TESL/TEFL certified, but others do not. Currently FAU is offering this program to teach English in Italy! I mean ITALY people! My good friend Tom is doing this program however, previously, he studied abroad in Spain as a Spanish minor through FAU. As for me, I am a French minor and am hoping when I graduate to participate in FAU’s program of teaching English in France. I have discovered that I can do this through either FAU or Fulbright. There are so many options for us English majors out there, and I don’t know about you guys, but my love for reading started with adventure stories of traveling and living fearlessly. That’s an incredible thing to experience when teaching English abroad.

For those who aren’t too keen on living abroad for an extended time, Teach for America is another incredible program. For two years, you are assigned to a school in a specific region and live and work in schools that need help; usually more impoverished. One of my very good friends Hana is doing the TFA program in Texas and she truly adores it (she is currently on her second year). To see Hana’s journey at TFA check out her blog here.

We truly have options and a great foundation to go out there and enrich the lives of children through our love of English. There’s no greater feeling than to be able to do that no matter where you are in the world.

Leave a Reply

