You plague me.

Mind, body, and soul.

That time you mentioned us

Growing old:

You

By that clock and wheel,

And me

By the cliffs and sea.

We are close now.

You,

You are here in every way.

But not close enough.

Not allowed to stay.

Like that clock

You are waiting,

Our hearts like the wheel,

Spinning, as time stands still.

You are waiting for

Me to fall.

I can’t see straight.

I am thinking,

Thinking

About that pounding, nervous

Heartbeat,

You and your eyes, your peace.

How you plague me.

My heart is not free.

It’s not

You and me.

We can’t.

We don’t.

Will we?


 

desk work

Tayler Grossman is an English and journalism double major at FAU with minors in German and psychology. She enjoys learning about all forms of writing, as both of her majors require vastly different writing styles.

Ms. Grossman has always loved poetry and began experimenting with it in middle school. Of her own work and literary interests, she says:

“Reading is a big part of my life now. Between the courses I have already completed at FAU and the ones I am currently taking, I have dabbled with medieval literature, fairy tales, Dante and other epics, mythology, science fiction, traditional English lit critique, scientific/ research writing, and both hard news and feature/ freelance style story writing.”

Ms. Grossman plans to broaden her horizons further by looking at more genres and writing styles as her college career progresses. One day, she hopes to work for a prominent publishing house doing content editing on solicited manuscripts and working with authors. In the future, Ms. Grossman also aspires to work as a freelance writer, and would like to write her own books in the realm of fiction and quantitative study.

Leave a Reply

