I see the yellow daisies
buried below the concrete,

but somehow beneath their burdens,

I can still see their smiles.

I see the green moss.
It is pushing its way through the cracks.
Maybe one day it will find the path

to a place that always shines.

I see the thick weeds,

for they are crawling for their lives.

Maybe one day they will escape

and no longer be confined.

I see the baby violets,

as they cry yet, continue to grow,

and I think to myself
_There still is Hope._
I will smile.

I will shine.
I will grow.

_There still is hope._


Sidney Mesa is a second-semester freshman at FAU majoring in English. Using nature as a muse, “There is Still Hope” is an optimistic poem about spiritual growth and mental health. 

Leave a Reply

