Last night –

you slept at my place for the first time.

We somehow managed to squeeze into my tiny twin bed with

our limbs intertwined, and my head pressed to your chest.

I could hear your heartbeat.

I found myself trying to sync mine to yours,

inhale,

exhale,

until there was no distance left between us,

and until the weeks apart melted away.

You cradled me in your arms the way

the sky surrounds the stars.

You looked at me like all the world’s constellations

had taken residence in my eyes.

You became the strongest force of gravity,

A black hole,

and I never stood a chance.

 

Edited by Natalia-Marie Fiorio

Leave a Reply

