Cast out the dragnet,

and lock my hands in

knotted rope!

But make sure

to keep me bound,

because if there’s

a chance

I’m set free,

then these hands

will set the captives

free

 

Cast out the dragnet,

and blister my body

with its coarse fibers!

But make sure

that I do

not bleed.

Because if there’s

a chance

I’m seen,

then my body

will become their

crimson banner.

 

Cast out the dragnet,

and strangle the defiance

from my lungs!

But make sure

I’m properly

suffocated.

Because if there’s

a chance

my mouth

can still offer sound,

then I will speak

maelstroms

to overwhelm you.

 

Cast out the dragnet,

and pull my body into

the deepest of graves!

But make sure

to bury me

without my heart,

because if there’s

a chance

for it to still beat,

then I will become

the Earth

and consume you.

 

Cast out the dragnet,

and celebrate my

fleeting remembrance!

But make sure

to kill me.

Because if there’s

a chance

I’m set free,

then these hands

will set the captives

Free

 

 

Edited by Sabrina Loftus

Leave a Reply

